From left to right: Perry County Council of the Arts Executive Director Jasmine Colbert, Perry County Poet Laureate Brooke Mitchell, Perry County Commissioner Brenda Watson.

Perry County Poet Laureate

Brooke Mitchell, of Newport was named 2022’s Perry County Poet Laureate for her poem “Last Night on the Farm” 

Siggy David Award (Theme: Whimsy)

Brooke Mitchell, “Bird” 

First Place

First Place
Alane J. Balchunas, “Stars, Sand, Birds”

Second Place

Second Place
Ellie Cameron, “Forsythia”

Third Place

Third Place
Beck Emerick, “skylark”

Meet This Year's Judge - Lewis Land

Professor • Author • Poet
A Central Pennsylvania native, Professor Louis Land earned his BA from the same college where he now teaches, Susquehanna University. He obtained his MA from another Central Pennsylvanian college, Bucknell University. When he’s not judging poetry, he can be found playing music, writing his own poetry, and grading students’ essays.

2022 Contest

Our prizes include First, Second, Third, Honorable Mention, and the Siggy David Award for poems written in any form with the theme of “Whimsy,” chosen by last year’s SDA Award winner Eydie Wight. Perry County residents will be eligible for the title of Perry County Poet Laureate.

The Poetic Excellence Awards will take place at 6:30 pm at our coffeehouse event. Open mic night will follow the awards. For more information on our coffeehouse event, click here:  Coffeehouse – Perry County Council of the Arts (perrycountyarts.org)

Elizabeth Yon-1999
Ed Rech-2000
Melody Davis-2001
Joy Campbell-2002
Ann Benvenuto-2003
Melody Davis-2004
Melanie Simms-2005
Cordelia Jensen-2006
Cordelia Jensen-2007
Beth Jacobs-2008
Sandra Philpott-2009
Samantha McAlicher-2010
Fritz Williams-2011
Sandra Philpott-2012
William Davies Jr.-2013
Kenneth J. Little-2014
William Davies Jr.-2015
Lynne Reeder-2016
William Davies Jr.-2017
Lynne Reeder-2018
Lynne Reeder-2019
Lynne Reeder-2020
Lynne Reeder-2021
Brooke Mitchell-2022
2021 Contest Now Closed

Announcement with winning poets COMING SOON.

2021 Awards Ceremony and Coffeehouse ~ Wednesday, October 6, 6 to 8:30 p.m.

Buddy Boy Winery, 111 Barnett Drive, Duncannon

Join us as we honor the award-winning poets from this year’s annual poetry competition and for the presentation of the 2021 Perry County Poet Laureate. Stick around for Coffeehouse Open Mic following the awards ceremony! Grab a bite to eat and a glass of wine from Buddy Boy and enjoy poetry readings, live music and more! No outside food/drink please.

Interested in performing during open mic? Contact us at 717-567-7023 or pcca@perrycountyarts.org.