Sophie’s Writers Group welcomes wordsmiths of all genres and forms – novels, plays, poetry, journalism, songs, and short stories to meet monthly in a relaxed atmosphere to share and critique their work. There is no charge and the group is always open to new writers! Held monthly at Landis House, 67 N. Fourth St. in Newport.

Currently, there are no meetings scheduled.

21st Annual PCCA Awards for Poetic Excellence

All entries must reach the Perry County Council of the Arts or be postmarked by February 1, 2019. Anyone may enter the contest; however, only Perry County residents will be eligible for the title of Perry County Poet Laureate. Entry Fee: $5 per page.

Step 1: Submit Your Entries

Download the 2019 Guidelines

Email entries to in Word or PDF format,

or Mail to PCCA, PO Box 354, Newport, PA 17074

Step 2: Submit Payment ($5 per page)

Number of Pages

or Mail a check made payable to PCCA.

Elizabeth Yon-1999
Ed Rech-2000
Melody Davis-2001
Joy Campbell-2002
Ann Benvenuto-2003
Melody Davis-2004
Melanie Simms-2005
Cordelia Jensen-2006
Cordelia Jensen-2007
Beth Jacobs-2008
Sandra Philpott-2009
Samantha McAlicher-2010
Fritz Williams-2011
Sandra Philpott-2012
William Davies Jr.-2013
Kenneth J. Little-2014
William Davies Jr.-2015
Lynne Reeder-2016
William Davies Jr.-2017
Lynne Reeder-2018